Ohh It Twinges

‘In unspeakable pain,
and with terrible inner fear,
we succeed.’

A little ditty I wrote at the beginning of this year, and I quite like it. The things we want so much don’t come easily, unless you’re very lucky, but luck tends to be an unreliable thing, so not really something to rely upon. I like a bet, and all forms of gambling rely on luck – needless to say I don’t win very often. Now, having the odd punt is fine but gambling with your livelyhood isn’t good, I’ve never been one to rely on luck in my sporting career – Some might say I got lucky with my last throw in Beijing but I know it was all the hard word, preparation and experience that enabled me to throw so far with my last throw, and it was no surprise I threw 34.37m, as I had targeted 34 metres before the competition. Like all sportspeople I’m sure, I go through agonising periods of insecurity and paranoia, especially when the pressure’s on. You wonder if you’ve done enough training, if you’ve had enough rest, if you can remember how to throw, all kinds of things. You have to deal with these thoughts to get to your goals.

I’m four weeks into winter training and am as happy as a pig in shit. Next year is massive and I will be a different animal when I start throwing sticks again in the Spring.

Leave a comment