And Finally…

At last I’ve won the bloody Paralympic World Cup at the 4th time of asking, it’s been the only competion I hadn’t won but now I’ve done it and filled a nasty gap in my CV. The PWC has been a bogey competition for me, at my bogey stadium in Manchester – I’m starting to think it’s impossible for to  throw well at the Millenium games warm up track, but I’m nowt if not consistent, and my 31.67 metres yesterday was the furthest I’ve thrown in the PWC, albeit by two centimetres over the distance I threw in 2005.

Lots of positives to take though, as it was the strongest PWC field I’ve had with the top three in the world competing, throwing into the wind was difficult and both Beijing bronze medallist Vanek and world record holder Idoudi struggled. Thomas Green probably threw the best of everyone on the day.

It was a proud moment to win this title finally, especially after loosing the world number 1 spot to Idoudi since Beijjing. It hasn’t been easy preparation for me as I’ve had an infection and been full of cold, and while I wasn’t totally satisfied with how I threw, a win is a win and there’s no better feeling than beating the best in the world,  however far you throw.

I was so happy for my mum, who is only in her second season of coaching me full time, so far she has a 100% record and long may it continue. I wish my dad could’ve been there to see it, but I know he would’ve been looking down loving the result but calling my performance worse than shite.

So I’ll no longer compete as a twenty-something year old, but I won’t feel old and sorry for myself. It’s a new beginning, starting with a new frame and new clubs – I’m excited!

2 thoughts on “And Finally…

    • Lynn Hobson

      Hi ,
      Congratulations on achieving a full house and very well done to Mum too!
      love from Your Sheffield friends

Leave a Reply

