Tooning Up for the Throw

Only a few days until I attempt to Throw a Mile next Tuesday, and the weather is getting predictably worse. Things are coming into place nicely though, so I can start to consentrate on what I do best – throwing a stick over my head. I’ve thrown once since I got my pride and joy back, which was to do some filming for BBC Look North, it was absolutely brass-monkeys that morning and took me a while to persuade my body to start moving. I did throw for an hour and I was a bit stiff and sore afterwards, but it was good to blow some cobwebs away.

NUFC lent their weight to my challenge today. I went to their training ground to meet manager Chris Houghton (pictured left) and a few of the players ahead of Tuesday’s challenge. Kevin Nolan was the first to pledge his support by filling in the sponsorship form I had taken along. I know how tight footballers are, so was prepared to give it the hard sell, but Chris Houghton assured me he would get the lads to cough up some sponsorship for me.  I also caught up with Shola Ameobi, and we discussed our hip problems. Then I grabbed Andy Carrol and Peter Lovenkrands for a quick photo (below). The support I’ve had so far has been tremendous, and I’m hoping loads of people come along next Tuesday at 11am to Gateshead Stadium – I’m sure you’ll have nowt better to do so get yourself along! Keep that money coming into www.justgiving.com/throwing-a-mile

Leave a Reply

