Throwing Up Some Dollies

Beautiful conditions at Gateshead for last night’s competition, before I threw my girlfriend asked what I was going to use as an excuse for throwing like a girl – that’s confidence for you. Thankfully I didn’t need any excuses because I threw a season’s best 31.60 metres. It was nice to go over 30 metres for the first time this season, my first three throws were all over 30 metres and I built up nicely, however my second three throws were not so good as I tightened up a bit, I was slightly disappointed I couldn’t build on my first set. Overall its a step in the right direction and a good confidence boost ahead of the nationals.

There’s a lot of improvement to come, both technically and physically, it was by no means my normal preparation for a competition, I spoke at a London 2012: Student Leadership Conference in the afternoon before heading to work. So it was a very tiring day and after I’d thrown I was extremely tired – Which is why I’ve got to be happy with the result.

Here’s my competition playlist:

Rebellion (Lies) – Arcade Fire
Always – Blink 182
Man Overboard – Blink 182
Six Minutes – Boy Kill Boy
Laser Eyes – Dartz!
Black & White Town – Doves
Still D.R.E – Dr Dre
Today Tomorrow Sometime Never – Echobelly
Bullets – Editors
Munich – Editors
Mass Appeal – Gangstar
Basket Case – Green Day
Digital – Joy Division
Genius – Kings of Leon
Deep – East17
The Coast is Always Changing – Maximo Park
She Bangs The Drums – Stone Rones
Airbag – Radiohead
She Sells Sanctuary – The Cult

Leave a Reply

