Throwing Sticks is Bad for Your Health

Well, things didn’t quite go how I would have liked down at Perrivale for the first competition of the season – and that’s me putting it mildly. So lets get the bad part over with, I threw 27.98 metres, my worst distance since 2003 and worst at Perrivale since 2000.  Still, I’m not too down hearted as things really did transpire against me from the start, the 8 hour journey from hell didn’t help going down to London on Friday, that included a burnt out car, 3 car pile up, and 20 miles on the M25 that took 1 and a half hours. Needless to say I woke up on Saturday pretty stiff and sore, and when I got to the track to find a big head wind, my misery was complete. For those of you who think I’m making excuses – yes I am, and I don’t care. The wind is a big factor in club throwing, more than any other type of throws. When you consider a club weighs 400 grams and isn’t aerodynamic like a javelin or discus, then yes the wind can have a big effect. The legal wind speed in the club is -/+ 3 metres per second, I’m pretty sure the wind at Perrivale was around that so factoring that in, I can estimate that my throws are in the air about 3 seconds, so the wind took about 9 metres off my throw, which means I really threw about 36 metres. Hahaha of course I made that up, but you have to look at the positives. It was a bad day at the office and one to forget, but it was nice to go back to Perrivale after a 2 year absence, I started going there 9 years ago and it’s a very nice track. The guy in charge there is doing a great job and is so positive about disability athletics. They recently got a new club house and a stand, and they look great. Just need a wind break next.

Leave a Reply

