Silverside

paralympians

Another busy weekend as I flew down to Birmingham, courtesy of my mother, after my book signing at Borders. It was the UK Athletics awards dinner, where I picked up a bottle of ‘silvertop’ champagne for my silver medal in Beijing. I’m well aware that only two athletes won gold in Beijing but it was truely rammed down our throats on Saturday, I guess that’s to be expected. It was a bit annoying not to even be mentioned in the Paralympic round up – it was all track track track as usual. Trevor Brooking was the afterdinner speaker and was pretty much boring as hell. Still, it was nice to catch up with everyone and find out I’m not the only one that has just been on the piss since Beijing.

localhero

In case you missed it, I was presented with an Ambassador for Sport award at the Local Heroes dinner by my new-found friend Tony Jefferies. I’ve seen Tony at what seems like a hundred dinners since coming back from Beijing, he’s a nice lad for a Mackem.

Here’s a picture from the night, before mum spilled red wine over my Boss suit.

Just like to say good luck to my dad for his op tomorrow. Safe.

Leave a Reply

